In the News


FX Orders Limited Series ‘Say Nothing’ Based on Book About The Troubles in Northern Ireland

By Joe Otterson

February 1, 2024

FX has ordered a limited series adaptation of the Patrick Radden Keefe book “Say Nothing,” Variety has learned.

The nine-episode series explores The Troubles in Northern Ireland. Lola Petticrew (“Tuesday,” “Dating Amber,” “Bloodlands”), Hazel Doupe (“Sanctuary: A Witch’s Tale,” “You Are Not My Mother,” “Smother’), Anthony Boyle (“The Plot Against America,” “Manhunt,” “Masters of the Airs”), Josh Finan (“The Responder,” “Baby Reindeer,” “The Gentlemen”), and Maxine Peake (“Funny Cow,” “The Theory of Everything,” “Peterloo”) will star.

It will be available exclusively on Hulu in the U.S., Star+ in Latin America and Disney+ in all other territories.

The official description states:

“Spanning four decades, ‘Say Nothing’ explores the tumultuous period in Northern Ireland known as The Troubles. The series launches with the shocking disappearance of Jean McConville, a single mother of ten who was abducted from her home in 1972 and never seen alive again. But McConville was only one of many others who became known collectively as The Disappeared. Through the eyes of various IRA members, including sisters Dolours and Marian Price—young women who transformed into magnetic symbols of radical politics, Brendan Hughes—a tight-lipped but conflicted military strategist, and Gerry Adams—a savvy political operator who would go on to negotiate peace but ultimately deny his involvement with the IRA, Say Nothing unpacks the extremes some people will go to within a civil rights movement as they pursue their ideals, the mystery surrounding The Disappeared, the cost of silence, and the way society mends – or doesn’t – after a long and bloody conflict.”

Petticrew stars as Dolours Price, with Doupe as Marian Price, Boyle as Brendan Hughes, Finan as Gerry Adams, and Peake as adult Dolours Price.

Josh Zetumer will serve as executive producer and showrunner on the series. Keefe will also executive produce. Frequent FX collaborators Nina Jacobson and Brad Simpson will also executive produce under their Color Force banner. Edward McDonnell, Monica Levinson, and Northern Ireland native Michael Lennox will also executive produce. Lennox will also direct. The series is produced by FX Productions.

Petticrew is repped by Hamilton Hodell and Range Media Partners. Doupe is repped by Curtis Brown and McFarlane Chard. Boyle is repped by Hamilton Hodell, WME, Tapestry London and Johnson Shapiro Slewett & Kole. Finan is repped by Insight Management & Production. Peake is repped by Maison 2 and Tapestry London.

Josh Zetumer is repped by UTA, Entertainment 360, and attorney Rob Szymanski.